Bowls England has named a 12-strong squad to participate in its first Under 18 Test Series against Wales at Wootton Bassett BC, Wiltshire, on Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th September 2015.


The match has been organised as part of Bowls England’s continuing commitment to increase opportunities for younger players to participate in the sport. Players will take part in a number of disciplines and various formats over the course of the two days.


It will build on the success of the Sutton Winson Trophy, which gave an opportunity for 128 juniors to compete during the National Championships in Royal Leamington Spa last weekend, and additional activities to support youth development are to be announced.


Tony Allcock MBE, Bowls England Chief Executive, said: “Young bowlers are the future of our sport, and we are therefore delighted that we have been able to organise this Test Series, which is a first for outdoor bowls in this country. I would like to congratulate all of those players selected and I am sure they will prove to be tremendous ambassadors for the sport.”

The selected squad (listed alphabetically) is:


Leah Bamford (Kent)

Chloe Brett (Huntingdonshire)

James Fuge (Essex)

Anna Hall (Kent)

Liam Harris (Suffolk)

Tom Holmes (Herefordshire)

Harry Goodwin (Devon)

Imogen Jenner (Kent)

Louis McCubbin (Hampshire)

Rebecca Moorbey (Cambridgeshire)

Katy Smith (Wiltshire)

John Yates (Lancashire)


Players were selected using various criteria including the Commonwealth Youth Games selection process and performances at county and national level during 2015, including the Sutton Winson Trophy.


Hedley Bowen and Gail Gilkes, Bowls England Junior International Team Managers, will lead the squad during the event