Middleton Cup 2018 first trial

The following players are invited to the Middleton Cup First Trial to be held at Royal Wootton Bassett on Saturday 12 May at 10.00am. Please arrive by 9.30am. Dress code Greys & Bowls Top.

The trial was originally scheduled for Sunday 13 May, but due to the White Rose Under 25 match on the Sunday, the trial has been re-scheduled for the Saturday.

Message from Middleton Cup manager, Neil Smith:

This is probably the largest number of players we have asked to attend a Middleton Cup trial, the selection committee feel it’s important to reward players for good performances, so we are prepared to give you a chance.

It’s very important for everyone to start the season positively, we don’t have long before the Devon game and even less time before the Prelim Balcomb match, also against Devon on Sunday 27 May at Topsham 12pm, we all need to hit the ground running, so we are in good shape when we face Devon.

We have mixed the rinks up a little so we can explore lots of possibilities, we want to see you all on top form so it makes our job really difficult. The trial will be a full game, we may make the odd positional change if we feel we need too.

There will be rolls available after the game.

The team to play Hampshire on Saturday 19th 2pm @ RWB will be on the website on Sunday 13th.


Rink 1

Phil Gregory (Royal Wootton Bassett) Paul Kistle (Westlecot)
Graham Hatherall (Royal Wootton Bassett) Anthony Sprules (Royal Wootton Bassett)
Tom Warner (Salisbury) Justin Davis (Holt)
Neil Collett (Royal Wootton Bassett) Gary Morphet (Royal Wootton Bassett)

Rink 2

Dave Murray (Highworth) James Richman (Westlecot)
Craig Morphet (Royal Wootton Bassett) Fraser Boynton (Salisbury)
Mike Titcombe (Westlecot) Craig Hatherall (Royal Wootton Bassett)
Mel Biggs (Royal Wootton Bassett) Wayne Snook (Holt)

Rink 3

Andy Blake (Royal Wootton Bassett) Gary Jackson (Westlecot)
Jamie Shadwell (Box) Jordan Moody (Salisbury)
Kyle Anderson (Royal Wootton Bassett) Mike Snell (Royal Wootton Bassett)
Steve Snell (Royal Wootton Bassett) Graham Shadwell (Spencer Moulton)

Rink 4

Tony Keating (Holt) Tom Newman (Avon)
Jamie Reynolds (Salisbury) Tom Pittuck (Swindon Town Gardens)
Mike Richards (Westlecot) Tom Walkley (Royal Wootton Bassett)

Rink 5

Wayne Simmonds (Holt) Gary Fippen (Spencer Moulton)
Colin Easton (Avon) Neil Yeoman (Broughton Gifford)
Mike Jackson (Westlecot) Dave Godwin (Royal Wootton Bassett)

Reserve: Chris Cheesley (Royal Wootton Bassett)