Middleton Cup vs Hampshire trial match

The below players have been selected to represent Wiltshire in the trial match vs Hampshire on Saturday 19 May at Royal Wootton Bassett. All players to report by 1.30pm for a 2.00pm start. Dress is county tops and whites.

If unable to play or any other problems please contact Neil Smith on 07747 755860.

Message from the Selectors:

“As always selecting Wiltshire sides are very difficult, the trial on Saturday went very well and we were pleased with the performances of a lot of players, some new into the fold and some who had been left out in previous years and have come back to prove us wrong, leaving players out of any team is really difficult, there is always disappointment, we all know how much you want to play for Wiltshire and we respect that, all we can say is keep playing well and have good seasons, doing it on the green is the only way to play your way back into the team.

Just because you have not been selected to play in the Hampshire match doesn’t mean you won’t be in the Middleton Cup squad, the door is always open and we are happy to accept we sometimes get it wrong and changes have to be made.

Our focus now must be on next Saturday, we all need another good performance in order to move forward to the Balcomb and Middleton cup.

We look forward to seeing you all next week.

Neil, Adam, Keith & Hedley”


Rink 1

Gary Jackson Westlecot
Mike Jackson Westlecot
Gary Morphet Royal Wootton Bassett
Mel Biggs Royal Wootton Bassett

Rink 2

Wayne Simmonds Holt
Craig Hatherall Royal Wootton Bassett
Wayne Snook Holt
Ben Gadd Holt

Rink 3

Kyle Anderson Royal Wootton Bassett
Mike Snell Royal Wootton Bassett
Steve Snell Royal Wootton Bassett
Graham Shadwell Spencer Moulton

Rink 4

Phil Gregory Royal Wootton Bassett
Tom Warner Salisbury
Graham Hatherall Royal Wootton Bassett
Neil Collett Royal Wootton Bassett

Rink 5

Paul Kistle Westlecot
Chris Cheesley Royal Wootton Bassett
Dave Godwin Royal Wootton Bassett
Russell Francis Spencer Moulton

Rink 6

James Richman Westlecot
Mike Titcombe Westlecot
Ian Jefferies Westlecot
Neil Smith Royal Wootton Bassett

Reserves to play 11 ends

Craig Morphet Royal Wootton Bassett
Tony Keating Holt
Barry Sictorness Royal Wootton Bassett
Michael Richards Westlecot