Bowls Wiltshire Men’s 2023 Tour Report

Bowls Wiltshire Men’s Tour 15th to 18th September 2023

 The President Dave Williams  and 36 tourist ventured to the Cotswolds  for their 2023 tour.

The accommodation was at the Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire.

The tourist met at the Chipping Norton Bowls Club for their first match prior to check in

at the hotel.

Tour Results

Fri 15th Sept.   Chipping Norton B.C.     94

                          Bowls Wiltshire Men    135


Sat 16th Sept.  Morton in Marsh B.C.     74

                          Bowls Wiltshire Men    162


Sun 17th Sept.  Woodstock B.C.              28     Game played over 10 ends

                           Bowls Wiltshire Men     75     due to Rain


Mon 18th Sept.  Fairford B.C.                 80

                             Bowls Wiltshire Men  95

As usual, after all games the DUCKS were presented to the highest losing rink and

Frances was also being presented to the Skip for safekeeping. The recipients  wore their ducks with pride.

Our Tour Gala Dinner was held on Saturday evening together with guests

Paul Demczak, President Bowls Oxfordshire and his wife Penny. Everyone had a wonderful and enjoyable  time, including speeches by Dave and Paul.

One of the  main purposes of the Tour was to raise money for the Presidents Charity. This year it was JULIA’S HOUSE Devizes,and the money was raised by a Grand Raffle held after dinner on Sunday.

Additionally money was also raised throughout  the Tour by the use of incorrect words,mainly  the “f” and “w “word. The funds were boosted by any misdemeanour identified for flagrant breach of Tour Rules by any Tourist at any time,as these also attracted an IVC ( INVOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION)

The 2023 Chipping Norton Tour raised £1100 for the Presidents Charity.

Over the past 18 years tourists have raised in excess of £12000 for various charities.

Bowls Wiltshire Men Chipping Norton 2023 Tourist

Avon B.C.                    Chippenham B.C.          Swindon B.C.

John Crowder             Dave Williams Pres.      Tudor Lloyd

Danny Holland JVP    Stewart Allison              Howard Pryse

John Bowlhouse         Gary Hubbard                Ross Wheeler

Terry Cook                   Keith Hutchens             Barry Wheeler

Andy Durrant              Steve McPake               Steve Herridge

Derek Francis               Jerry Tinson                  Bob Hiles


Royal Wootton Bassett B.C.   Rodbourne Cheney B.C.   Spencer Moulton B.C.

John Wilks                                  Dan Harvey                          Russell Francis

Alan Small                                  Steve Rose                            Ian Francis

Mike Osman                              Dave Royle

Haydon Wick B.C.       Mere B.C.                      Winsley B.C.       Westlecot B.C,

Dave Longhurst            Don Butchers IPP         Cliff Gumm          Frank Hinchliffe

Phil Reddan                   Alan Isgrove

Amesbury B.C.      Alderbury B.C.    Malmesbury B.C.      Wroughton B.C.

Peter Harding        John Snell             John Smith                Andy Watson SVP