Category Archives: News Archives

News articles from 2013 and earlier

Relocation of Men’s National Championships

Bowls England have undertaken a feasibility study on the potential relocation of the Men’s National Championships from its current location of Worthing, to the proposed new location of Royal Leamington Spa.


Bowls Wiltshire is encouraging all clubs to read through the study carefully and consider the proposals included before coming to a conclusion on which way each club will vote.

It is stressed that each club has its own right to cast its vote based on the views and opinions of its own members.

County Champions Update Part 2

Holt’s Keith Bailey wins the Wiltshire County Mens Champion of Champions Singles title with a 21-18 win against Wootton Bassett’s Gary Morphet. The win makes amends for his loss in the 1993 final when he finished runner-up to Mike Tyler (Amesbury).

Keith Bailey (Holt)

Westlecot’s Gary Jackson wins the Wiltshire County Mens Unbadged Singles Championship with a 21-17 win against Chippenham Town’s Bob Chalmers.

Gary Jackson (Westlecot)

Highworth’s Kevin Carter has retained the Wiltshire County Mens Greenkeepers Singles Championship with an impressive 21-10 win against Wroughton’s Brian Coles.

Kevin Carter (Highworth)

The Wiltshire County Mens Over 60’s Triples Championship has been won by Wootton Bassett’s Dave Edmonds, Harold Jones and Alan Small. They defeated the Malmesbury trio of Brian Reynolds, Colin Hicks and Mal Curtis 21-15.

Alan Small, Dave Edmonds and Harold Jones

County Double for Westlecot’s Graham Hatherall

Westlecot’s Graham Hatherall completed a double on Sunday after clinching the Wiltshire County Mens 2 Wood Singles Championship with a 17-8 win against 2009 champion Russell Francis (Spencer Moulton).

Graham Hatherall (Westlecot)

Graham was also part of the winning Westlecot four who won the Wiltshire County Mens Fours Championship final earlier in the day. Joined by Ian Jefferies, Mike Jackson and Mel Biggs, the Westlecot four won the final 23-12 against the Spencer Moulton rink skipped by International Graham Shadwell.

Mel Biggs, Mike Jackson, Graham Hatherall and Ian Jefferies

Holt Dominate Wiltshire Four Rink League

Holt have won the Wiltshire Mens Four Rink League title for the first time in their history with an 87-48 win in the final against Spencer Moulton. They had already won Area C with a 100% record after winning all 14 games, including wins against local rivals and eventual finalists Spencer Moulton. Holt then defeated Area B runners-up Wootton Bassett and Area B winners Westlecot in the Quarter-Finals and Semi-Final respectively, ending Westlecot’s amazing run of 10 consecutive finals, in the process.

The win finishes off an excellent season for the club, who also qualified for the quarter-finals of the National Mens Club Two Fours Championship at Worthing, eventually losing out to Ilminster B.C (Somerset) by one shot.


Holt End Westlecot Run

Holt will meet rivals Spencer Moulton in the final of the Mens Four Rink League on Sunday after a magnificent win against holders Westlecot at Devizes B.C. Holt ran out 90-47 winners, taking the spoils on all four rinks and ending Westlecot’s run of 10 consecutive finals and 9 titles.

Holt have only ever reached the final on two previous occasions, which they have lost to Westlecot in both games, but they will be hoping it will be third time lucky when they play the final, against Spencer Moulton, on Sunday.

Spencer Moulton had an equally convincing 113-56 semi-final shots win over Highworth at Chippenham Town taking the honours on all four rinks.

Holt 90-47 Westlecot

Rink 1: Rodney Summers, John Robertson, Kevin Oliver & Don Gray won against Mel Biggs 20-15.

Rink 2: Matt Tucker, Robbie Jeffreys, Martin Oliver & Justin Davis won against Mike Jackson 20-10.

Rink 3: Matt Snook, Malcolm Barker, Graham Archard & Keith Bailey won against Graham Hatherall 26-11.

Rink 4: Wayne Simmonds, Adrian Bolwell, Wayne Snook & Ben Gadd won against Ian Jefferies 24-11.

Spencer Moulton 113-56 Highworth

Rink 1: Gary Fippen, Tim Wilkins, Kevan Farrer & Graham Shadwell won against John White 45-9.

Rink 2: Peter Hooley, Den Jones, Tony Keating & Ian White won against Rob Etherington 27-12.

Rink 3: Fred Beckett. Eric Green. Ashley Keirl & Russell Francis won against Richard Young 21-19.

Rink 4: Keith Westlake, Roger Green, Ian Francis & Steve Wiltshire won against Robbie Allen 20-16.

Spencer Moulton Retain Tourist Trophy

Spencer Moulton have defeated Chippenham Town B.C in the final of the Tourist Trophy 48-39 to retain the title they won in 2011.

Spencer Moulton

Rink 1 : Tony Keating, Roger Green, Ian White and Russell Francis lost against Alan Stell, Chris Brown, David Godwin and Neil Connor 21-29

Rink 2 : Gary Fippen, Ian Francis, Steve Wiltshire and Graham Shadwell won against Willie Jones, John Lucas, Jeremy Haselton and Steve Heseltine 27-10

Kingston Wins Champion of Champions Crown

Highworth’s Linda Kingston has won the Wiltshire County Ladies Champion of Champions Singles 21-17 against Margaret Annetts (Salisbury B.C). Linda was a beaten finalist in 2010 but this year she has gone one step further by taking the title in a closely fought final at Devizes this morning.

Linda Kingston

County Champions Update

Tom Walkley (Wootton Bassett) becomes only the 3rd player ever to retain the Mens Under 25’s Singles Championship, after a 21-11 win against Alex Wickham (Chippenham Town).

Tom  Walkley

2012 Bowls Wiltshire Club Secretary & Treasurer Pairs Champions – Rose Ellis and Janice Bull (Amesbury B.C) 19-10 winners against last years champions Alison Fail and Paul Boyles (Purton).

Rose Ellis and Janice Bull (Amesbury  B.C)

The National Triples Championship runners-up have continued their fine form from Worthing by winning the county final. James Nobbs, Neil Smith and Gary Morphet (Wootton Bassett) ran out 23-6 winners against Michael Richards, Graham Hatherall and Mike Jackson (Westlecot). The win for Smith means that he has now won all four of the County National Finals, which is a fantastic achievement.

Neil Smith, James Nobbs and Gary  Morphet (Wootton Bassett)

Chippenham Town’s Billy McCay has won the 2012 Mens Singles Championship after a thrilling 21-20 win against 2011 champion Mel Biggs.

Billy McCay (Chippenham Town)

Marcia Hartley has won the Ladies County Unbadged 2 Wood Singles after a 16-8 win against Bev Lilley.

Marcia Hartley