BW Middleton Cup Team to play Gloucestershire 09.07.22

We followed up our win in the Preliminary round against Worcestershire with a great win in Round One against our old rivals from Devon, winning by 7, 114 shots to 107, with 3 rinks up and 3 down..

We knew we’d need a strong start and that’s exactly what we got, opening up a 20 shot lead at 5 ends, which we extended to over 30 shots at the halfway point in the game.

Devon, although missing a few of their top players due to Commonwealth games commitments, are a quality side and we knew they’d battle away right to the end, and that’s exactly what they did.

At 15 ends they’d reduced the deficit to under 20 shots but we held firm and managed the game out well to come away deserving winners.

Heavy rain had made Chew Stoke trickier than expected but we played some great bowls and once again the team spirit was very good across all the rinks

We now face Gloucestershire in the Round Two on Saturday 9th July at Victoria BC, Weston-Super-Mare and the team is attached.

Parking isn’t great at Victoria so suggest everyone leaves in plenty of time to find somewhere to park on arrival.

Mike Jackson
Bowls Wiltshire Team Manager 


Lead Paul Kistle Westlecot Lead Adam Bolwell Spencer Moulton
Two Craig Hatherall Royal Wootton Bassett Two Mike Richards Westlecot
Three Neil Smith Westlecot Three Neil Yeoman Spencer Moulton
Skip Neil Collett Royal Wootton Bassett Skip Graham Shadwell Spencer Moulton



Lead Dave Snell Royal Wootton Bassett Lead Andy Blake Royal Wootton Bassett
Two Andy Moore Spencer Melksham Two Tom Pittuck Highworth
Three Mel Biggs Royal Wootton Bassett Three Dave Godwin Royal Wootton Bassett
Skip Scott Edwards Westlecot Skip Russ Francis Spencer Moulton


Lead Kyle Anderson Royal Wootton Bassett Lead Tom Warner Salisbury
Two Mikey Titcombe Westlecot Two Wayne Simmonds Holt
Three Graham Hatherall Royal Wootton Bassett Three Wayne Snook Holt
Skip Steve Snell Royal Wootton Bassett Skip Mike Snell Royal Wootton Bassett

Squad Members to attend (in alphabetical order)

Chris Cheesley
Connor Rabey
James Nobbs
James Richman
Nick Revell
Tom Walkley